BAFT News and Press Releases

Please direct all media inquiries to Blair Bernstein (Public Relations) or Gregory Kramer (General Communications).

BAFT-IFSA Elects HSBC's Gonzalez to Lead New Board, Announces Officers

by Arlene Sanchez | May 02, 2013
WASHINGTON — BAFT-IFSA announced its newly elected board for the 2013-2014 year at the Association’s Global Annual Meeting.
WASHINGTON — BAFT-IFSA, an international financial services association, announced its newly elected board for the 2013-2014 year at the Association’s Global Annual Meeting – The Americas.

The 2013-2014 board will be chaired by Rita Gonzalez, managing director with HSBC USA. Gonzalez joined HSBC in 1986 and has undertaken a variety of assignments with the bank including serving as sector head of financial institutions, global trade development solutions, strategic alliances, and debt restructuring. Rita holds a B.S. in finance and an MBA in finance and international business, both from Seton Hall University, and a diploma in international banking and finance from New York University. She has been a leader of BAFT-IFSA and its predecessor organization, BAFT, for many years and previously served as vice-chair of the association.

“I’m honored to lead this important international organization during this vital time for the transaction banking industry,” said Gonzalez. “BAFT-IFSA plays a key role in enhancing industry transaction banking standards, supporting the international businesses of its members, and providing a voice for the transaction banking industry across the globe.”
Other board officers include:
• Vice Chair: James Peterson, Northern Trust
• Secretary/Treasurer: Kimberly Burdette, PNC

The newly elected members of the board are:
• John Ahearn, Citi
• David Cruikshank , BNY Mellon
• Peter Knodt, Deutsche Bank
• Chris Lewis, Wells Fargo
• Mike Quinn, JP Morgan
• Victor Sastri, Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ Ltd.
Continuing directors include:
• Helen L. Arsenault, Comerica
• Tod Burwell, BAFT-IFSA
• Xu Chen, Bank of China
• Mark Garfield, Zions
• Alexandra Holcomb, Westpac
• Sara Joyce, Bank of Montreal
• Richard Neiman, PWC
• Vinnie Raniere, Lombard Risk Management
• Dan Scanlan, Standard Chartered
• Craig Schurr, First Merit
• Ian Toone, RBC
• Eszter Wijkman, SEB
• Jeremy Wilson Barclays
• Stephanie Wolf, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
• Andy Wright, RBS

BAFT-IFSA, the leading global financial services association for international transaction banking, provides a forum for analysis, discussion and advocacy amongst international financial institutions and industry suppliers on a wide range of topics affecting transaction banking, including trade finance, payments, and compliance. The association website is