Wednesday, September 2
12:00 BST / 13:00 CEST / 15:00 GST  
Welcome & Introduction – Day 1
Speaker
  • Tod Burwell
  • President & CEO
  • BAFT
  • 12:10 BST / 13:10 CEST / 15:10 GST  
    An Inside Look at the Healthcare Industry
    A fireside chat to discuss the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the healthcare industry globally and regionally. Special focus will be given on what the future outlook of the industry looks like, what the industry should probably watch out for, how companies should navigate post-pandemic, and whether collaboration is expected with/from the financial services industry and if so, in what form.
    Interviewer
  • Maram Al-Jazireh
  • Senior Vice President & Global Head of Financial Institutions
  • Arab Bank
  • Interviewee
  • Bashar Shomali
  • Vice President, Business Operations and Strategic Planning
  • Hikma Pharmaceuticals
  • 12:40 BST / 13:40 CEST / 15:40 GST 
    What's Happening in the Mergers & Acquisitions Market
    2020 is evolving as possibly the most challenging yet enterprising year for M&A activity in the region. The value of M&A transactions in the MENA region touched $14.8bn during the first quarter of 2020. However, the subsequent impact of a global pandemic coupled with low oil prices has added new dimensions to the strategic direction of banks and multinational corporates alike. Are institutions using liquidity for inorganic growth or securing their existing business? Are valuations reliable in uncertain market conditions? Join us for a lively conversation as we have M&A experts from the region debate the current market environment and key themes driving M&A activity in the banking sector.
    Moderator
  • Hazem Shish
  • Managing Director & Head of FIG Middle East, Turkey and Africa
  • Barclays Investment Bank
  • Panelists
  • Karim Karoui
  • Group Head of Mergers and Acquisitions
  • First Abu Dhabi Bank (FAB)
  • Neeraj Makin
  • Senior Executive Vice President & Group Head, International and Group Strategy
  • Emirates NBD
  • Hossam Rageh
  • Executive Director & Acting CEO
  • Mayfair Bank - CIB
  • 13:25 BST / 14:25 CEST / 16:25 GST 
    Wrap-up – Day 1
    Speaker
  • Kishore Kotian
  • Vice President, Financial Institutions Group
  • Barclays Corporate Banking
  • 13:30 BST / 14:30 CEST /16:30 GST 
    Interactive Networking & Social Events
    Meet fellow attendees, catch up and enjoy each other’s company in a small group virtual setting. We have three networking opportunities for you to choose from:
    Regional Bank Networking Event
    African Bank Networking Event
    General Networking Event
    Wednesday, September 9
    12:00 BST / 13:00 CEST / 15:00 GST  
    Welcome & Introduction – Day 2
    Speaker
  • Andreas Meletiou
  • BAFT MENA Council Co-Chair & Head, Financial Institutions
  • Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank (ADIB)
  • 12:05 BST / 13:05 CEST / 15:05 GST  
    Venture Capital Outlook
    Host
  • Chavan Bhogaita
  • Managing Director & Global Head of Market Insights and Strategy
  • First Abu Dhabi Bank (FAB)
  • Speaker
  • Ibrahim Ajami
  • Head of Ventures
  • Mubadala
  • 12:30 BST / 13:30 CEST / 15:30 GST 
    The State of Global Remittances Post-Pandemic
    The impact of COVID-19 on global remittances is expected to be dramatic. At the same time, the ability for people to send money to family and friends securely and with certainty is more important than ever. Financial institutions will be expected to innovate and collaborate with partners in new ways to better serve people by enabling the safe and seamless movement of money across borders that may be physically closed. The session will discuss the current remittance landscape, the long-term importance of digital enablement and short-term need for multiple disbursement methods, and why there is reason for optimism.
    Moderator
  • Jon Chan
  • Associate Partner, MENA
  • McKinsey & Company
  • Panelists
  • Pankaj Asthaana
  • Vice President, Digital Payments & Labs, MENA
  • Mastercard
  • Adnan Lari
  • Head of Remittance
  • The Saudi Investment Bank
  • 13:00 BST / 14:00 CEST / 16:00 GST 
    Stretch Break
    13:05 BST / 14:05 CEST / 16:05 GST  
    The Future of Digital Banks
    Technology has been critical during the pandemic. With social distancing and quarantine requirements across the globe, online banking, whether depositing via your phone or paying digitally has been a norm. As a result, digital banks’ role are front and center. This session will cover the challenges and opportunities the current crisis has presented to digital banks, its learnings and how it views its role in the financial industry going forward.
    Host
  • James Pearson
  • Executive Vice President & Global Head of FI and non-bank FI
  • Mashreq Bank
  • Speaker
  • Bodgan Uzbekov
  • Product Operations Lead
  • Revolut
  • 13:35 BST / 14:35 CEST / 16:35 GST
    Hospitality Industry Outlook
    This panel covers how the hospitality industry, specifically the Travel and Tourism industries, have been impacted and the silver lining (there’s always one or more) seen while navigating through and hopefully emerging soon from the pandemic. It also casts light on the relationship between tourism and the travel industry, plus lodging, restaurants and other industries within the hospitality industry umbrella, as a whole will have post-COVID. Will these individual industries collaborate like never before or will they individually go about their recovery separately and at some point cross paths in an effort to rebuild and recuperate. Our esteemed panel will provide insights on how they see this unfold.
    Moderator
  • Chavan Bhogaita
  • Managing Director & Global Head of Market Insights and Strategy
  • First Abu Dhabi Bank (FAB)
  • Panelists
  • Adel Ahmad Al Redha
  • Chief Operating Officer
  • Emirates Airlines
  • Issam Kazim
  • Chief Executive Officer
  • Dubai Corporation for Tourism and Commerce Marketing
  • Mike Premo
  • President & Chief Executive Officer
  • Airline Reporting Corporation
  • 14:20 BST / 15:20 CEST / 17:20 GST 
    Wrap-Up – Day 2
    Speaker
  • Ayaz Kamlani
  • Managing Director & Head of GTB Financial Institutions
  • First Abu Dhabi Bank (FAB)
  • 14:20 BST / 15:20 CEST /17:20 GST
    General Networking Event - Day 2

    Networking Session: Meet fellow attendees, catch up and enjoy each other’s company in a small group virtual setting

    Wednesday, September 16
    12:00 BST / 13:00 CEST/ 15:00 GST 
    Welcome & Introduction – Day 3
    Speakers
  • Mark Garfield
  • Chair of the Board of Directors
  • BAFT
  • Rana Beydoun
  • Conference Co-Chair & Head, Financial Institutions
  • BLOM Bank
  • 12:05 BST / 13:05 CEST / 15:05 GST 
    One-on-One with Facebook
    Facebook has been very busy in the past few months with increased user activity, updating as well as informing the public about COVID and combating misinformation in parallel. It is also working on launching new initiatives of its own. Social media has been a refuge to many across the world during the lockdown. This special discussion will cover behavioral trends, general popular sentiment, growth opportunities, in addition to where the company expects to make its mark post-pandemic. Given the platform is ripe for a large number of additional services, including financial services; the pertinent question would be whether Facebook envisions a deeper collaboration with banks going forward.
    Host
  • Eric Modave
  • Chief Operating Officer
  • Arab Bank
  • Featured Speaker
  • Ramez Shehadi
  • Managing Director, MENA
  • Facebook
  • 12:35 BST / 13:35 CEST / 15:35 GST 
    Spotlight on the Saudi Arabian Fintech Industry
    The pandemic has accelerated our need for technology much faster than anticipated. Take this opportunity to learn what’s happening with accelerator programs today, with specific focus on the Saudi Arabian financial services technology industry, plus hear new and emerging innovative solutions from several fintech firms. .
    Featured Speaker
  • Nejoud Al Mulaik
  • Director
  • Fintech Saudi
  • Moderator
  • Anji AlJaroudi
  • Head of Financial Institutions
  • The Saudi Investment Bank
  • Participating Fintech Companies
  • · Forus - Founder & CEO, Nosaibah Alrajhi
  • · Manafa Capital - Investment Operations Director, Ahmad AlKasabi
  • · PayTabs - Country Manager, Saudi Arabia Ali Alsheri
  • · Raqamyah Platform - Founding Partner & CEO, Ammar Bakheet
  • 13:05 BST / 14:05 CEST / 16:05 GST 
    Stretch Break
    13:10 BST / 14:10 CEST / 16:10 GST 
    One-on-One with Microsoft
    There is no doubt that digitalization and technology have been at the pinnacle of growth opportunities globally. The pandemic reinforced the critical importance of technology in everyone’s lives. With education relying on online tutorials, virtual meetings on the rise, and working from home the saving grace in continuing company/institutional services; this session covers Microsoft’s views on how it sees this continuing to evolve into the future. We will learn how Microsoft is working on positioning itself amidst this shift, including its future vision for the industry and the different initiatives it is working on with various governments in the MENA region.
    Host
  • Mohamad Zarakat
  • Director & EMEA Digital Lead
  • BNY Mellon
  • Featured Speaker
  • Salwa Smaoui
  • Government Industry Leader, Middle East & Africa
  • Microsoft
  • 13:40 BST / 14:40 CEST / 16:40 GST 
    One-on-One with Amazon
    With digitalization, social media and technological advancement on the rise, coupled with shifting trade routes and evolving economies, this one-on-one discussion will shed light on the impact of COVID-19 on Amazon. This session will address how Amazon is navigating through different variables, and whether it will continue to be a prominent online sales platform or will it shift/expand its service offerings. We will also talk about how Amazon is currently supporting customers and communities regionally in light of this pandemic and its post-pandemic era strategy.
    Host
  • Shereen Abdulla
  • Senior Manager, DIFC Fintech Hive
  • Host & Producer, Spark! with Shereen
  • Featured Speaker
  • Omar Soudodi
  • Managing Director
  • PAYFORT (An Amazon Company)
  • 14:10 BST / 15:10 CEST / 17:10 GST 
    Closing Remarks
    Speaker
  • Rana Beydoun
  • Conference Co-Chair & Head, Financial Institutions
  • BLOM Bank